My House Will Always Be Messy


If we are friends then you know that if you’re coming over, my house will be as clean as I can manage. Which means there are usually still dishes in the sink, toys on the floor, trash to be taken out, and laundry to wash, fold, and put away which is usually strewn about the living room in piles. 

Thankfully my friends are pretty accepting of this. Maybe because most of them are moms too, so they understand. 

My life is hectic! I’m already a mom, plus I have a full time job, and I run a business from home. Not to mention whatever appointments come up, play dates, sporting events, or any other extra curricular which takes away from me being home cleaning. 

I could hire a cleaning service but those can get pretty costly and we are on a tight budget as it is with the wedding coming and summer camp. I know sites like Groupon offer great deals but for us, it’s just not worth it. (If anyone would like to volunteer their time, I won’t turn you down!)

I used to get super upset about the house being messy when people come over. I would be embarrassed and apologize over and over. But now, I care less. I will still apologize once and send a warning out but that’s about it. When I go to other friends’ houses, especially if they are moms, I don’t expect it to be perfectly clean just because I’m visiting. Hello, people have busy lives! Besides, once you’re talking and visiting and the kids are playing, who is even noticing that pile of laundry or the dishes from 3 days ago. Not me! 

Messy homes are happy homes. End of story. 

How do I know this? Because I have tried to have a clean home. Do you want to know the result? A three hour temper tantrum that resulted in my child cleansing up the 12 dinosaurs on his bedroom floor and me cleaning up the rest. Every. Single. Time. 

JR has gotten better over the years about cleaning. Now the crying doesn’t last as long and he usually cleans up more. But the overall experience is still dramatic and traumatic, for both of us. I wish I could still make it a game like when he was younger. But unfortunately, at six, he is not as easily fooled as he once was. 

If you have a kid who likes cleaning consider yourself blessed. And also know that I hate you. Are there even kids who like cleaning? Or are they made up? Like unicorns. 

Now that I’ve had two glasses of wine and folded the laundry, the house looks just fine to me. 
Xoxoxoxo 

Leave a comment